Japanese Stock Market Holidays 2021 – 2022

The stock market in Japan is closed on Saturdays, Sundays and the Japanese national holidays in the table below.

Trading Hours

On trading days, the Tokyo Stock Exchange is open from 09:00 to 11:30 in the morning, and then 12:30 to 15:00 in the afternoon.

Japanese Stock Market Holidays in 2021

Jan. 1 (Fri.)New Year’s Day
Jan. 2 (Sat.)Market Holiday
Jan. 3 (Sun.)Market Holiday
Jan. 11 (Mon.)Coming of Age Day
Feb. 11 (Thu.)National Foundation Day
Feb. 23 (Tue.)Emperor’s Birthday
Mar. 20 (Sat.)Vernal Equinox
Apr. 29 (Thu.)Showa Day
May 3 (Mon.)Constitution Memorial Day
May 4 (Tue.)Greenery Day
May 5 (Wed.)Children’s Day
Jul. 22 (Thu.)Marine Day
Jul. 23 (Fri.)Sports Day
Aug. 8 (Sun.)Mountain Day
Aug. 9 (Mon.)Mountain Day (Aug. 8) observed
Sep. 20 (Mon.)Respect for the Aged Day
Sep. 23 (Thu.)Autumnal Equinox
Nov. 3 (Wed.)Culture Day
Nov. 23 (Tue.)Labor Thanksgiving Day
Dec. 31 (Fri.)Market Holiday
・National holidays that fall on a Sunday are observed on the following Monday.

Japanese Stock Market Holidays in 2022

Jan. 1 (Sat.)New Year’s Day
Jan. 2 (Sun.)Market Holiday
Jan. 3 (Mon.)Market Holiday
Jan. 10 (Mon.)Coming of Age Day
Feb. 11 (Fri.)National Foundation Day
Feb. 23 (Wed.)Emperor’s Birthday
Mar. 21 (Mon.)Vernal Equinox
Apr. 29 (Fri.)Showa Day
May 3 (Tue.)Constitution Memorial Day
May 4 (Wed.)Greenery Day
May 5 (Thu.)Children’s Day
Jul. 18 (Mon.)Marine Day
Aug. 11 (Thu.)Mountain Day
Sep. 19 (Mon.)Respect for the Aged Day
Sep. 23 (Fri.)Autumnal Equinox
Oct. 10 (Mon.)Sports Day
Nov. 3 (Thu.)Culture Day
Nov. 23 (Wed.)Labor Thanksgiving Day
Dec. 31 (Sat.)Market Holiday

Leave a Reply

More Posts

4 Japanese Stocks with Stable High Dividends

With a stable environment and a strong culture of mitigating risk, Japan is a great place for dividend hunters. In this article, we introduce 4 companies with high dividend yields and robust business models which we believe will sustain or increase their dividend payouts in the future.

Read More »
Digital Marketing in Japan
Tailored digital marketing campaigns for international brands in the Japanese market
Learn More
Accelerate your sales in Japan
Japanalytics provides digital marketing solutions to companies at all stages of entering the Japanese market
Learn More
Previous
Next